

Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission

NEWSLETTER

New Payment Portal

We have a new online payment portal! Please note that all fee payments can now be made via our website at our Schedule of Fees webpage.

Currently this portal is only accepting credit card payments. We are hoping to begin accepting Telecheck payments soon.

NOTE: If you make a payment, but are unsure if it has gone through, please contact your Regulatory Specialist before trying to make the same payment again.

Reminders for Renewals

Timely Renewal of Authorization:

Please be reminded that a complete Renewal of Authorization Application and applicable fees are due at least 60 days prior to your institution's authorization expiration date.

Submission of application and fee(s) after the due date but prior to 30 days before expiration will be assessed a 25% late fee on the Authorization and TGTF Fees, if applicable.

Latest Updates

2025 Annual Registration:

The window for renewing your Annual Registration with the Georgia Secretary of State's office is from January 1 to April 1, 2025. It is required that each institution provides an updated Annual Registration document annually within the Renewal of Authorization Application. You can update your registration on the GA SOS's website here.

DBA ("doing business as") Requirement:

If your institution's name is different than what is registered with the Georgia Secretary of State's office, a DBA document will be required with each Renewal of Authorization Application. All applicants must have their operating name either registered with the GA SOS's office or have a DBA document by July 1, 2025.

Program Application Updates:

GNPEC has created separate New Program Applications and Program Change Applications for unaccredited and accredited institutions. For unaccredited institutions, new program applications will be limited to a single modality for the delivery of instruction (in-person, online, or hybrid). For each NEW program application submitted, the Program Evaluation Fee will be required per modality. These new applications are now live in EDvera. As a reminder, this update will only impact authorized institutions if the institution seeks to add NEW programming. Already approved programs will not be required to complete separate modality program change applications. As usual, non-substantive changes will not require a fee payment, but other substantive changes to a program will require the payment of the Program Evaluation Fee.

Upcoming Events

Renewal Applicant Training (Virtual) - February 11 from 10-11:30 AM

Commission Meeting - February 24 from 1-3 PM

Submission of application and fee(s) within 30 days of the expiration will be assessed a 50% late fee on the Authorization and TGTF Fees, if applicable.

Automatic revocation of authorization will result if the Renewal of Authorization Application and all applicable fees are not received by the expiration date. Should the institution seek to regain authorization, it must apply as a new institution (Initial Authorization Application) including being subject to all appropriate fees and bonding requirements.

Minimum Standard of the Month

The Minimum Standards provide specific criteria for compliance with the standards set forth in Georgia law. These standards are applied equally to all institutions authorized by GNPEC or seeking to get authorized by GNPEC.

Minimum Standard 8 contains guidelines for financial requirements for institutions. To ensure each institution is capable of satisfying commitments made to students, GNPEC will review institutional finances annually and may require additional financial documentation.

Standard 8: Financial Viability

Statutory Authority: O.C.G.A. §§ 20-3-250.5(b)(2); 20-3-250.6(a)(8); 20-3-250.10(a)

- 1. The institution must have adequate liquid assets on hand (i.e., cash and cash equivalents, market securities, available bank line of credit) to ensure it can fulfill all commitments to students. The following liquidity standards are recommended:
 - Unrestricted liquid funds available in at least the amount of 30 days projected expenses for authorized institutions; or
 - Unrestricted liquid funds available in at least the amount of 90 days projected expenses for institutions seeking initial authorization.
- 2. A Certified Public Accountant (CPA) prepared financial documentation, which may include an audit or review, of the most recently completed fiscal year must be provided by institutions reporting gross tuition over \$500,000.
- 3. The institution must provide any documentation received from its accreditor or the United States Department of Education relative to adverse actions taken against the institution.
- 4. The institution must provide supplemental documentation requested as part of the Financial Viability Assessment (ex. Financial Improvement Plan, Teach-Out Plan, CPA review, and/or CPA audit). In accordance with 20-3-250.10(a), this may include the requirement to obtain institutional bonding in an amount determined by the Executive Director, based on institutional revenue.
- 5. The institution must immediately advise GNPEC if it files a petition for bankruptcy or determines that its financial position negatively impacts its ability to satisfy commitments to its students.