MINUTES

NONPUBLIC POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION COMMISSION January 30, 2017 10:10 A.M.

Pursuant to notice, the Quarterly Meeting of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission was held **via Teleconference** from the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission, 2082 East Exchange Place, Cornerstone Conference Room, Tucker, Georgia 30084.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mollie Cohen 2nd Congressional District

Lee Todd
Deb Wade
Amanda Shailendra
Shelley Nickel
Toby Hinton
Holly Kirbo, Secretary
Dr. Arthur Vaughn, Vice Chair

3rd Congressional District
4th Congressional District
5th Congressional District
6th Congressional District
7th Congressional District
8th Congressional District
11th Congressional District

Clinton Hobbs, Chair AT LARGE

MEMBERS ABSENT: Victoria Agyekum 1st Congressional District

Dr. Martha Nesbitt

Ryan D. Worsley

Norma Nunez-Cortes

Karen Gilbert

9th Congressional District
10th Congressional District
12th Congressional District
13th Congressional District

STAFF PRESENT: Corinna M. Robinson Executive Director

Shirlene Mitchell Office Manager
Dr. Carl G. Camann Deputy Director

Laura Vieth Standards Administrator
Patricia Neri Standards Administrator
Adam Hawk Standards Administrator

Phil Embry External Auditor

VISITORS: Brian Lipton Office of Planning & Budget

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair, Clinton Hobbs called the meeting to order at 10:10a.m.

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Toby Hinton made a motion to adopt the Agenda for the January 30, 2017 Quarterly Commission Meeting of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission. The motion was seconded by Deb Wade.

Upon unanimous vote it was **RESOLVED**, that the Agenda for the January 30, 2017 meeting be adopted.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair, Clinton Hobbs asked the Commission to review the Minutes.

Shelley Nickel made a motion to adopt the Minutes from the October 24, 2016 Quarterly Commission Meeting of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission. The motion was seconded by Amanda Shailendra.

Upon unanimous vote it was **RESOLVED**, that the Minutes from the October 24, 2016 Quarterly Commission Meeting of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission be adopted.

4. FY17 QUARTERLY REPORT (Unaudited): TUITION GUARANTY TRUST FUND

Corinna M. Robinson, Executive Director, reported the following:

- Fiscal Year 2016 Second Quarter report ending December 31, 2016
- Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund First Quarter Yearly Comparison Report

Chair, Clinton Hobbs asked if there were any questions for Executive Director, Corinna Robinson that may not have been addressed in the previous Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund meeting at which the report was approved. There were none.

Vice Chair, Dr. Arthur Vaughn made a motion to adopt the Quarterly Report of the Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund for the six-month period ending December 31, 2016 as approved by the Board of Trustees of the Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund. The motion was seconded by Secretary, Holly Kirbo.

Upon unanimous vote it was **RESOLVED**, that the Quarterly Report of the Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund for the six-month period ending December 31, 2016 as approved by the Board of Trustees of the Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund be adopted.

5. REPORT ON NPEC FY17 OPERATING BUDGET Ending December 31, 2016

Executive Director, Corinna M. Robinson discussed the following:

- Ended quarter at a 47.16% overall spending
- NPEC's "0" rent still applies; thanks to OPB negotiation with GSFC
- Projecting a balanced budget at the end of the fiscal year

Executive Director, Robinson asked if there were any questions. There were none.

No approval required.

6. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Executive Director, Corinna Robinson discussed the following:

• GNPEC's Annual Report for FY16 (attached)

- a. Executive Director Robinson highlighted the following from the report:
 - i. 291 Authorized Institutions
 - ii. 21 New School Applications Processed
 - iii. 827 Student Transcript Requests
 - iv. 33 Student Complaints Investigated
- b. Commission can review the report at their leisure
- c. Required to provide to the Governor and General Assembly annually

Agency's legislation regarding exempt schools and board composition

- a. NPEC will have agency legislation during the 2017 legislative session. Meetings are still occurring with bill sponsors and anticipate the legislation being dropped soon.
- b. The legislation strengthens the original legislative intent for the exemption code section by giving NPEC the authority it needs to require information on a periodic basis to confirm that an exempt institution is maintaining the qualifications for an exemption.
- c. Change the wording in the exempt code section that applies only to John Marshall Law School. The change is to accurately reflect their current status as accredited by the American Bar Association and continue to exempt John Marshall Law under its present qualifications.
- d. Following the Governor's Zero Based Analysis (ZBB) and in an effort to reduce budget and administrative burdens the legislation proposes to reduce NPEC's board from fifteen members to seven members by removing the congressional district qualification. Representatives from degree granting and certificate granting nonpublic institutions will still be represented. All current members will be able to finish their terms.

Commissioner Shelley Nickel suggested that each commissioner resign and then this will allow the Governor to be able to expedite the process and appoint the seven members that he desires.

Executive Director Robinson stated that this could be an option if the commissioners so desire as there is nothing in code that prevents voluntary resignations. Executive Director Robinson reminded the members that all of this is contingent on whether the legislation passes.

Chair, Clinton Hobbs asked that the discussion of board members voluntarily resigning be delayed to the April 18, 2017 commission meeting.

The following commissioners expressed that they would not be present for the April 18, 2017 commission meeting: Shelley Nickel and Lee Todd.

• FY17 Second Quarter Report of New Authorized Schools

- a. Argosy University, Sarasota (FL)
- b. DeVry University, Naperville (IL)
- c. Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University/Hunter AFB (GA)
- d. Albany Beauty Academy and Massage Therapy Program (GA)
- e. Health and Style Institute (Kennesaw, GA)

No approval required.

7. OTHER BUSINESS

No other business.

8. 2017 MEETING DATES

- Tuesday, April 18, 2017*
- Monday, July 17, 2017*
- Monday, October 16, 2017*

9. ADJOURNMENT

Toby Hinton made a motion to adjourn meeting. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair, Dr. Arthur Vaughn.

Meeting adjourned at 10:32 A.M.

Clinton Hobbs, Chair Holly Kirbo, Secretary

^{*} Location and time to be determined