NONPUBLIC POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION COMMISSION BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

UNOFFICIAL MEETING SUMMARY Monday, January 25, 2016

The quarterly meeting was held at the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission in Tucker, Georgia.

Commission members in attendance were:

Martha Nesbitt (Chair), Clint Hobbs (Vice Chair), Arthur Vaughn (Secretary), Victoria Agyekum, Mollie Cohen,Karen Gilbert, Toby Hinton, Shelley Nickel,Amanda Shailendra,Lee Todd, Deb Wade, Alexander "Whit" Whitaker,Ryan Worsley

Commission members absent were:

Norma Nunez-Cortes Holly Kirbo

NPEC staff in attendance were:

Executive Director, Corinna M. Robinson Deputy Director, Dr. Carl Camann Office Manager, Shirlene Mitchell Standards Administrator, Adam Hawk Standards Administrator, Linda Exley Standards Administrator, Magda Rivers Standards Administrator, Laura Vieth GA SARA Coordinator, Pat Neri External Auditor, Phil Embry

Visitors:

No visitors

Proceedings:

- The Commission meeting was called to order at 1:41pm by Chair, Martha Nesbitt.
- The agenda was evaluated and approved.
- The October 19, 2015 meeting minutes were evaluated and approved.
- Report given on NPEC FY16 Operating Budget for the second quarter ending on December 31, 2015.

Action Item(s):

- The Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund Report for the second quarter of Fiscal Year 2016 was approved.
- By vote, the Commission directed the Executive Director to obtain legal opinion from the Attorney General's Office pertaining to exempt schools who fail to submit the required audited financial statement and the action(s) the Commission can take for noncompliance.

Executive Director's Report:

The Executive Director, Corinna Robinson, reported on the following: FY 2015 NPEC Annual Report; FY 2016 Quarterly Report of New Authorized Schools; update on Edvera database; update on Georgia SARA and NPEC serving as the SARA State Portal Agency.

Other Business:

No other business

The next Commission meeting will take place on April 18, 2016 with a time and location announced at a later date.

The Commission meeting of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission was adjourned at 2:30pm by Chair, Martha Nesbitt.