NONPUBLIC POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION COMMISSION BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

UNOFFICIAL MEETING SUMMARY Monday, October 24, 2016

The quarterly meeting was held at the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission in Tucker, Georgia.

Commission members in attendance were:

Martha Nesbitt (Chair), Clint Hobbs (Vice Chair); via teleconference, Arthur Vaughn (Secretary), Mollie Cohen, Karen Gilbert, Toby Hinton, Shelley Nickel; via teleconference, Amanda Shailendra, Norma Nunez-Cortes, Deb Wade, Holly Kirbo.

Commission members absent were:

Victoria Agyekum Ryan Worsley Lee Todd

NPEC staff in attendance were:

Deputy Director, Dr. Carl Camann Office Manager, Shirlene Mitchell Standards Administrator, Adam Hawk Standards Administrator, Pythagoras Aaron Standards Administrator, Magda Rivers Standards Administrator, Laura Vieth GA SARA Coordinator, Pat Neri External Auditor, Phil Embry

Visitors:

Brian Lipton, Office of Planning and Budget

Proceedings:

- The Commission meeting was called to order at 1:30pm by Chair, Martha Nesbitt.
- The agenda was evaluated and approved.
- The July 18, 2016 meeting minutes were evaluated and approved.
- Report given on NPEC FY16 Operating Budget for the first quarter ending on September 30, 2016.

Action Item(s):

- The Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund Report for the first quarter of Fiscal Year 2017 was approved.
- Election of Officers: Board of Commissioners and TGTF Board of Trustees The following positions were elected as NPEC's Board of Commissioners Officers: Chair, Clinton Hobbs
 Vice Chair, Arthur Vaughn
 Secretary, Holly Kirbo

The following positions were elected as NPEC's Board of Trustees for the Tuition Guaranty Trust Fund: Chair, Clinton Hobbs Vice Chair, Arthur Vaughn Secretary, Holly Kirbo Amanda Shailendra Norma Nunez-Cortes Toby Hinton

Executive Director's Report:

The Deputy Director, Dr. Carl G. Camann, reported on the following: Proposed Agency Legislation regarding exempt schools code section, Financial Viability First Year Report (presented by Phil Embry), and FY 2017 Quarterly Report of New Authorized Schools.

Other Business:

No other business

The next Commission meeting will take place on January 30, 2017 at 1:00pm, in the conference room of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission, located at 2082 East Exchange Place, Tucker, Georgia.

The Commission meeting of the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission was adjourned at 2:50pm by Chair, Martha Nesbitt.