The Commission is comprised of 11 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The members are appointed for three-year terms of office and may serve two terms consecutively. The 1990 Act specifies the Commission must include a member appointed to represent each of the following: a degree-granting institution, a nondegree-granting institution, and an exempt institution. The Commission is required to meet at least quarterly.

The day-to-day activities of the Commission are handled by a fourteen-person staff headed by an Executive Director appointed by the Governor. The staff is comprised of a Deputy Director/GA-SARA Coordinator, three Program Managers, six Regulatory Specialists, a Compliance Specialist, an External Auditor, and an Office Manager.

The Commission is attached to the Georgia Student Finance Commission for administrative purposes only.

For more information about our structure, you can view our organizational chart below:

Organization Chart FY24