The Commission is comprised of 15 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The members are appointed for three year terms of office and may serve two terms consecutively. The 1990 Act specifies the Commission must include a member from each of the state’s 14 Congressional districts and one at-large member. Two of the Commission members must be appointed to represent degree granting institutions and two members must represent institutions granting only certificates (that is nondegree-granting institutions). The Commission is required to meet at least quarterly.

The day-to-day activities of the Commission are handled by a nine person staff headed by an Executive Director appointed by the Governor. The staff is comprised of a Deputy Director, a Program Manager, one Senior Regulatory Specialist, four Regulatory Specialists, a SARA Coordinator/Program Manager, and an office staff.

The Commission is attached to the Georgia Student Finance Commission for administrative purposes only.

For more information about our structure, you can view our Organizational Chart.